Facts about Krabi & Ao Nang

krabi region mapKrabi is a flourishing seaside town on the Andaman Sea. The charm of this land is known worldwide for its white beaches and cluster islands. Lying 814 kilometers from Bangkok, Krabi covers 4,708 square kilometers. Various archaeological evidences prove its famous ancient community. Krabi marine area covers more than 130 islands.
The province is separated into 8 Amphoes (Municipalities): Muang Krabi, Ao Luek, Khao Phanom, Klong Thom, Koh Lanta, Plai Phraya, Lam Thap and Nua Khlong.
The northern and eastern part of Krabi border Phang Nga and Surrat Thani province. Krabi also borders Trang to the south and Nakhon Sri Thammarat to the east. The climate is same as in Phuket: 2 seasons, dry and rainy. Apart from tourism, the major income for Krabi is from agriculture, especially from palm oil, of which Krabi has the largest plantations in Thailand.